Inspired by Andrea Badgley’s blog Butterfly Mind, I’ve been doing writing prompts every day.

Writing prompts are a form of free writing that allow the writer the chance to write about any topic on their mind. These prompts can be anything from a question to an inspirational quote you enjoy. But the purpose of these prompts is to get the writer to write. To stop writer’s block and get the writer to write whenever they want to about whatever they want.

As a writer myself, I experience writer’s block on a daily basis. There are moments whenever I feel the itch to write, but struggle to put words down. These moments make it difficult for me to want to write.

However, after reading Badgley’s blog post about writing prompts and creating my own prompt box, I’ve been dealing with writer’s block a whole lot less.

Since I don’t have any small boxes in my house to use, I’ve been using a Ziploc bag for all of my writing prompts. It doesn’t take up a whole lot of space and I believe it works just as well for me.
Since I don’t have any small boxes in my house to use, I’ve been using a Ziploc bag for all of my writing prompts. It doesn’t take up a whole lot of space and I believe it works just as well for me.

I’ve felt the itch to write again. To put my own thoughts and words to paper. And while the times I feel inspiration don’t necessarily happen when I want them to, I’m happy to say that these writing prompts have helped me out a lot.

I enjoy doing them so much that I’m going to start posting some of the prompts I’ve created on my blog for all of you to see. Now, I won’t be posting all of the writing prompts I’m doing, just the ones I feel like I could easily incorporate into my blog and that I think you’ll enjoy reading.

But I want to share more of my writing with you. I want this blog to showcase my work, my personal journey as a writer. And I believe I can do that by sharing more of my writing with you.

So while I don’t plan on including all of my writing prompts on here, I will start putting some of them on here for you all to see.

If there are any prompts you’re interested in me writing, please leave a comment below or reach me at my email address lorrane.simmon@my.columbiasc.edu.

If you’re a writer struggling with writer’s block, writing prompts are the way to go. They’ve helped me overcome writer’s block and I believe they’ll help you too.